Gmail accidentally resetting accounts
Published on February 28th, 2011 | by sylv3rblade0
If you logged in to your gmail account, saw that your email archives are gone and are seeing the welcome message from your very first login, tough luck. Your gmail account has just been reset to it’s pristine, empty condition.
According to reports, as many as 500,000 Gmail users lost access to their inboxes with years worth of messages, attachments and Google Chat logs down the drain. That’s quite a loss if you’re using gmail as your primary storage for information and whatnot.
According to Google, there’s a bug in gmail’s codebase that reset some accounts, treating their owners as new users, even displaying welcome messages. The company says the issue “affects less than .29% of the Google Mail userbase,” and of course engineers are working to fix the issue.